Home > Bible Study, Horner Bible Reading Plan > Day 91 of the Horner Bible Reading Plan

Day 91 of the Horner Bible Reading Plan


I’m now up to day 91 in just under three months, with the following reading statistics: all of the New Testament at least once; and most of the Old Testament. Two days ago I completed List 1 (the gospels), so now I’m reading Matthew again. I’ve now implemented my variation on List 12 — Acts and Revelation, rather than just the book of Acts — and up to chapter 7 of Revelation. As with all my other NT reading, I’m reading Revelation for the second time through. In List 2 (the Pentateuch) I’ve started the third book (Leviticus), and in the history and prophets lists I continue reading through 2 Samuel, Ezra, Jeremiah and Ezekiel. At this point, I’ve read at least some (in most cases at least half) of all but eight of the Old Testament books: Leviticus (which I just started today), Numbers, Deuteronomy, 1 Chronicles, Nehemiah, Esther, Lamentations and Daniel.

A few things from my recent observations: both Romans (especially chapters 9 and 11) and James (chapters 2 and 3) speak of mercy, and the two readings complement each other in their frequent references to mercy. From today’s readings, Leviticus 1 (priestly instructions concerning the burnt offering) fits well with Ezra 8:35, in which the returning Israelites restarted the sacrificial system and made burnt offerings. In the gospels, again I am struck by the writing in Matthew’s gospel: the first chapters are just chock-full of Old Testament references that show how events concerning Jesus’ birth and early years fulfill so many Old Testament prophecies.

Again, this is a great way to read the Bible, reading many different parts at the same time to grasp something of the whole picture of God’s redemptive plan in history.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

