Home > Bible Study, S. Lewis Johnson, Zechariah > The Four Gospels and Zechariah: The Branch

The Four Gospels and Zechariah: The Branch

September 5, 2011

A few interesting points from S. Lewis Johnson’s Zechariah series and the identity of “the branch.”

Our four gospels present four different aspects of the Lord Jesus Christ, the “branch” described in the Old Testament.

  • Matthew:  Jesus as King
  • Mark:  The Servant
  • Luke:  The Son of Man
  • John:  The Son of God

We can also look in the Old Testament prophets to find these same pictures of “the branch.”

  • Jeremiah tells us of the “branch of righteousness” will come forth from David:  the King aspect   (Matthew).  Jeremiah 23:5 and 33:15

“Behold, the days are coming, declares the Lord, when I will raise up for David a righteous Branch, and he shall reign as king and deal wisely, and shall execute justice and righteousness in the land.”


In those days and at that time I will cause a righteous Branch to spring up for David, and he shall execute justice and righteousness in the land.

  • Zechariah 3:8 refers to “my servant” the branch:  (Mark)

behold, I will bring my servant the Branch.

  • In Zechariah 6:12 the branch is emphasized as “the man”   (Luke)


‘Thus says the Lord of hosts, “Behold, the man whose name is the Branch: for he shall branch out from his place, and he shall build the temple of the Lord.

  • Isaiah 4:2 describes “the branch of the Lord,” which emphasizes the branch’s divine nature: the Son of God  (John)

In that day the branch of the Lord shall be beautiful and glorious

%d bloggers like this: